Windy Week

Posted: June 30, 2011 in Gone Fishing
Tags: , , , , , ,

sunrise coral seaWell June goes out with a blow, these chill southerly gusts blast through my house and makes my bones ache. I’m guessing the cold has finally shut the Barra and Muddies down. Hopefully, if the damned wind ever stops, the Bream, Grunter(javelin fish) and Blue Salmon will pick up in the river. I’m not sure what happens in winter out on the bay, but I heard the Squid come on out around the islands. mmmm calamari!

The car, boat and trailer registration bills are all coming in together, of course, which will put a damper on our activities for the next few weeks, although a river trip or two should still be on the cards.The up side of this downtime has to be the chance to service all our reels, rods and gear.

Another plus is I have some time to research techniques for the target species and share my findings here on the blog. Other news I learned the Slim Beauty knot, although mine isn’t all that slim nor particularly pleasing to the eye. In fact it brings to mind an image of Rex Hunt in a tutu ….. sorry Rex.

Leave a Reply

